College of Medicine / About / Departments / Departments

Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine
Florida Atlantic University
777 Glades Road, BC-71
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-4828

Lecture at Schmidt College of Medicine building at FAU Boca Raton campus


The Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine has 7 academic departments:

Biomedical Science Department

Faculty in the Department of Biomedical Sciences provide leadership for the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine and Florida Atlantic University in all of their academic pursuits including research, education, scholarship and service. They work closely with medical education specialists in developing student-centered medical education curricula that is innovative and case-based. Faculty are also committed to the growth of research and scholarship at the University and engage medical, undergraduate and graduate students in meaningful scholarly pursuits that enhance the educational experience, while advancing our understanding of human health and disease.

Surgery Department

The Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine has recently implemented a fully ACGME-accredited surgery residency program. Along with the program, the college has developed a department of surgery, with experienced surgical experts. It is our first and foremost goal to train highly qualified surgical specialists and future leaders that can draw from a broad-based educational experience to provide evidence-based, high-quality, cost-effective care to patients with a wide range of surgical diseases. To this end we have designed a surgical training program that emphasizes education over service, strong academic affiliations and opportunities for scholarship, exposure to all major surgical sub-specialties, as well as deep ties to the community and our patients.

Last Modified 6/16/22